Eruption Sequence of the Permanent Dentition

Teeth generally erupt in pairs at the start of age six – however, there are many factors that dictate which teeth erupt first. For instance,

  • Girls’ teeth generally erupt before boys’ teeth
  • Mandibular teeth generally erupt before maxillary teeth (*except premolars)
  • Slim children have teeth that erupt before overweight children

What is a succedaneous tooth?

A succedaneous tooth is a permanent tooth that succeeds a primary tooth in the dentition. Children have five teeth in each quadrant – a central incisor, a lateral incisor, a canine, and two primary molars. Adults, however, have eight teeth in each quadrant – a central incisor, a lateral incisor, a canine, two premolars, and three molars. The permanent premolars take the place of the primary molars. Therefore, permanent molars are NOT succedaneous teeth (they do not succeed a tooth of primary dentition).

The first succedaneous tooth to erupt is the permanent mandibular central.

The first permanent tooth to erupt in the mouth (regardless of succedaneous classification), however, is the permanent mandibular first molar (nicknamed ‘The Six Year Molar’).

What is the correct eruption sequence of the permanent dentition?

At age 6/7, the mandibular first molar erupts first. This is followed by the maxillary first molar. Remember, teeth usually erupt in pairs (and mandibular before maxillary). At this age, it’s common to see the mandibular central incisors erupt, as well.

At age 7/8, the maxillary central incisors erupt, followed by the mandibular lateral incisor.

At age 8/9, the maxillary lateral incisors erupt.

At age 9/10, the mandibular canines erupt.

After age 10, things get a little more complicated. The maxillary premolars erupt BEFORE the mandibular premolars, and the maxillary canine generally erupts AFTER the maxillary first premolar erupts. To recap, at age 10/11, the maxillary first premolar erupts, followed by the maxillary canine. The mandibular first premolar then erupts. Finally, the maxillary second premolar erupts around age 10/12, followed by the mandibular second premolar at age 11/12.

At age 12/13, the mandibular second molar erupts, followed by the maxillary second molar.

At age 17/21, the mandibular third molar erupts, followed by the maxillary second molar.

Canida, B., Moore, B., Cheatham, K., & Cheatham, M. (2016). B&B Dental: Modernized Ndbe Part 1 Board Prep (2.8 ed.). B&B Dental.

2 responses to “Eruption Sequence of the Permanent Dentition”

  1. […] While there are a range of dates when the permanent dentition is supposed to erupt, a permanent tooth will officially erupt when 3/4 of the root has developed. As the permanent tooth erupts, the primary tooth’s roots will resorb and, eventually, the primary tooth will fall out. Space maintenance becomes important when primary dentition falls out at the inappropriate time – sometimes due to trauma or due to congenital defects. For instance, if a child loses his or her primary molars at the age of 9, a dentist would worry about the mesial drift of the permanent first molar (the permanent first molar is the first non-succadaneous tooth to erupt in the permanent dentition). […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: